We scored 15 Total Gym models and lookalikes across 4 quality categories and picked the 5 most worthy of your money.
I’ve put PT clients on these machines for 20 years, mostly people coming back from a layoff. These are the best Total Gym model picks I’d trust with them, backed by our weighted scoring rather than the infomercial.
The aim was simple: find the incline trainers that glide smoothly, carry real users without wobble, and keep you progressing.
Let’s see how they stacked up…
Editor's note · updated October 19, 2026
We rebuilt this guide for 2026 around what’s on sale now.
What changed:
- A new lineup. Total Gym sells three home trainers direct, and the standard FIT is gone.
- The XLS and APEX G5 dropped out. The APEX G3 takes the budget slot.
- GR8FLEX stays, with a buying warning.
- US links only. Old Total Gym Direct links now land on a UK store.
Related
We’ve trained clients on folding machines and full racks for years. If you’d rather have a cable stack, see our best all-in-one home gym picks. Planning the whole room? Start with how to build a home gym, and compare rod-resistance machines in our best Bowflex home gym guide.
Compare the best Total Gym models
The figures below come from each maker’s own page, owner’s manual or brand-listed Amazon page, never a reseller’s copy.
Total Gym FIT AE
Check price
|
GR8FLEX
Check price
|
Total Gym GTS
Check price
|
Total Gym APEX G3
Check price
|
||
|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Best for | Overall | Value | Total Gym alternative | Premium / Pilates & rehab | Budget |
| Rating (*) | |||||
| Build & capacity | 92% | 87% | 84% | 86% | 72% |
| Resistance range | 88% | 84% | 85% | 96% | 68% |
| Versatility & accessories | 88% | 86% | 92% | 90% | 70% |
| Value | 84% | 92% | 82% | 62% | 86% |
| Price | $$$ | $$ | $$ | $$$$ | $ |
| Resistance levels | 16 | 14 | 15 + bands | 22 | 8 |
| % of bodyweight | Not on the product page (chart: about 29% at level 8) | Not published | 10% to 47.7% | 1% to 62% | Not published |
| Max user weight | 500 lb | 400 lb* | 450 lb | 350 lb (500 lb total load) | 300 lb |
| User height limit | Not stated | Not stated | 6'5" | 6'5" | Not stated |
| Unit weight | 100 lb | 66 lb (FIT manual) | 90 lb | 180 lb | 53.2 lb |
| Size in use (L x W x H) | 97 x 17 x 45 in | 93 x 18.5 x 44.5 in | 96 x 16 x 50 in | 106 x 38 x 57 in | 92.5 x 16.5 x 43 in |
| Folded (L x W x H) | 51.5 x 17 x 10.5 in* | 50.5 x 18.5 x 8.5 in | 51 x 18 x 8.5 in | 20 x 38 x 57 in (stands upright) | 50.5 x 16.5 x 8 in |
| Glideboard | 4-position adjustable | Fixed | Fixed | 7-position adjustable | Fixed |
| Extra loading | Weight bar (sold separately) | Weight bar (sold separately) | Resistance bands included | Weight bar (sold separately, 650 lb total with you on it) | Weight bar (sold separately) |
| In the box | AbCrunch, leg pull, deluxe squat stand, press-up bars, wing | AbCrunch, leg pulley, squat stand, 2-piece wing, press-up and dip bars, training deck | Wing bar, dip bars, EZ curl bar, ab crunch, XL squat stand, bands, mats | Telescoping squat stand, LAT bars, foot holder, multi-point tower | Squat stand, dip bars, leg pull, wing |
| Arrives | Fully assembled | Fully assembled | No assembly needed | Pallet freight, assembly not stated | Not listed |
| Exercises claimed | 100+ | 100+ (85 in the features list) | 100+ | 250+ | 70+ |
| Warranty | Lifetime frame, 2 yr parts | Lifetime frame, 6 mo to 2 yr parts* | Limited lifetime (registered owner, authorised seller) | 5 yr frame, 1 yr parts, 6 mo upholstery | 12 months (original owner) |
| Where to buy | Amazon, totalgym.com | totalgym.com only | Amazon, GR8FLEX direct | totalgym.com only | Amazon, Walmart |
In the spec rows, an asterisk marks a figure where Total Gym disagrees with itself. The FIT Anniversary Edition page says 450 lb in its headline but 400 lb in its features list. It also gives both a 2-year and a 6-month parts warranty. We show the lower user weight and both warranty figures. The EVOLVE page says it folds to 8.5 in high, while the owner’s manual says 10.5 in, so measure for the bigger number.
“Not published” means the product page gives no per-level percentage, so we didn’t guess.
Our testing and selection process
How we assess Total Gym models
We run every Total Gym roundup through the same 5 steps:
- We start as the buyer. The team has trained on Total Gyms, and I’ve used them with clients for years, mostly people coming back to exercise or working round a niggle.
- We research wide. Specs, owner’s manuals, warranty terms and owner feedback on 15 machines went into one spreadsheet: current Total Gyms, retailer and discontinued models, and the lookalikes. We also checked which ones are still sold new in the US, because several famous names aren’t.
- We score each machine with our weighted system. Data sets the ranking, not the badge.
- We split the field by job: budget, value, premium for Pilates and rehab, and the best alternative.
- We get hands-on where we can and lean on owners and the SHG community for the rest.
You can read more about the process in our review guidelines.
How we score Total Gym models

Build leads the score, because a machine that wobbles on cable work is one you stop trusting at the top incline.
We grouped it into four weighted factors:
- Build & capacity (30%) - frame, rails and rollers, user weight limit, stability at the top incline, and how much room it takes up and folds into.
- Resistance range (25%) - how many steps, how high the ceiling goes, and how you add load past bodyweight.
- Versatility & accessories (20%) - what’s in the box, the exercise range, and whether the glideboard adjusts.
- Value (25%) - quality for the money, warranty, and where you can buy it.
Build & capacity (30%)
A good Total Gym glides like it’s on rails, because it is. We check how smooth the rollers feel, how much the tower and the “horns” wobble on cable work, and whether the board stays planted at the top incline. I look at the horns first, since thick ones that tilt forward make every pulley move steadier. User limits run from 300 lb to 500 lb across our picks, so this factor also decides who can use the machine at all.
Rust counts too. A fully coated frame copes with a damp garage better than chrome rails, and the owner reports of rust we found all come from chrome-railed machines.
Whichever you buy, put a mat under it. Total Gym’s own list of known issues includes tipping and rolling at the highest incline, and a mat stops the base creeping on a smooth floor. Footprint lives here as well. Every home model needs about 8 ft of length in use and folds to roughly 50 in long, except the GTS, which stands upright instead.
Resistance range (25%)
A Total Gym is a ramp. Each level is a steeper angle, and the load is a share of your own bodyweight that climbs as the rails rise.
So more levels don’t mean a higher ceiling. They mean smaller jumps between steps. I care about that more than most buyers expect. When I drop a client back a notch after a niggle, a small step keeps them training instead of stalling.
Only two of our picks print a percentage for every level. The GR8FLEX runs from 10% of your bodyweight at level 1 to 47.7% at level 15. For a 200 lb user, that’s about 20 to 95 lb before the bands go on (our arithmetic). The GTS spans 1% to 62%. Total Gym’s own 16-level chart shows a 250 lb user lifting about 72 lb at level 8, around 29%, and it says to halve the figure on cable moves.
Past bodyweight, you need extra load. The FIT, EVOLVE and APEX G3 take an optional weight bar for plates, while the GR8FLEX ships with bands. Ask Total Gym which bar fits your model first, since its store lists the weight bar only for the GTS and commercial machines.
Versatility & accessories (20%)
A bigger squat stand is kinder to knees and lower backs, so we look at that before anything else in the box. Then the wing attachment, the leg pull, the AbCrunch and the dip or press-up bars. An adjustable glideboard earns extra credit, because a level board opens up Pilates-style and side-lying work.
Exercise counts on the box are marketing. Most of my clients use about a third of them, so past 70 or so, the quality of the basics matters more than the number.
Value (25%)
Total Gym’s own store shows “compare at” prices far above what it really charges, so we score against real selling tiers instead of the sticker. Warranty length matters here, and so does who honours it. GR8FLEX, for one, only covers machines bought from GR8FLEX or an authorised seller.
Don’t lean on Amazon star ratings either. The EVOLVE and XLS listings show the exact same rating count, so Amazon is pooling reviews across the family and the stars tell you little about one model.
Find the perfect Total Gym model for you
Overall | Value | Alternative | Premium | Budget
Here’s how the five machines stack up on our overall score:
Total Gym EVOLVE
Best OverallQuick specs
- 16 resistance levels, 4-position adjustable glideboard
- 500 lb max user weight, 100 lb steel frame
- 97 x 17 x 45 in in use, folds to 51.5 x 17 x 10.5 in (manual)
- Lifetime frame, 2-year parts, arrives fully assembled
A 500 lb user limit, the top of Total Gym’s home range, with 16 small steps and a board that levels out for reformer-style work. It still folds flat.
Our take
What I like
- I’ve watched clients fight a fixed board on side-lying leg work for years, sliding down a steep rail between reps. One six-month owner says the level board ends that. It also keeps your head above your heart on inverted moves, which can cut the dizziness when you get up.
- The height column has a little window that shows the level. It sounds trivial until you’ve squinted at a pin hole between sets with a client waiting.
- By the same owner’s account, the cables run smoother than on older Total Gyms. Ball stoppers keep the handles from slapping into the pulleys when you let go.
What I don’t
- The same owner rates the padding about the same as the cheaper FIT, with a pillow headrest thinner than the rest of the board. On the flagship model, I’d want more.
- The wing attachment’s handles are shorter than the FIT’s and the foam doesn’t cover the whole grip, so leg curls press metal into your skin. He also found the arm cables catch on the folding pin, which a Velcro strap sorts.
Pros & cons
Pros
- 500 lb user rating, the highest on our list and 100 lb more than the FIT Anniversary Edition’s 400 lb.
- 4-position adjustable glideboard used in 40+ exercises, so you get reformer-style work without buying a second machine.
- 2-year parts cover on top of a lifetime frame, double the GTS’s 1-year parts term.
Cons
- 100 lb, heavier than the GR8FLEX (90 lb) and the APEX G3 (about 53 lb), so wheeling it between rooms takes some effort.
- Folded height is 8.5 in on the product page and 10.5 in in the manual, so measure under-bed space against the bigger number.
Read more about the Total Gym EVOLVE
Heavier users used to get a raw deal from Total Gym.
Before the EVOLVE, Total Gym’s home models topped out at 450 lb, and the steps between levels were coarse. The EVOLVE lifts the cap to 500 lb and adds a 16-level column, the most levels of any fold-flat model here. For a big client coming back from a knee or back problem, those two numbers decide whether a Total Gym is even an option.
The glideboard is the other big change. On older Total Gyms the board sits flat on the rails and tilts as they rise, while the EVOLVE’s board props up into four positions to stay level.
The manual adds a safety rule the sales page skips: don’t use the adjustable board above level 8 on the column, and keep it clipped down when you aren’t using it.
Total Gym calls the squat stand its largest to date, which helps if your knees or lower back grumble on a small platform. Once 16 levels feel easy, the manual shows a hole for an optional weight bar, so plates can take you past bodyweight. The maker’s demo below shows the board moving between positions.
Against the FIT Anniversary Edition, you’re paying a tier more for three things: the level board, two extra levels, and a higher user rating. If none of those matter to you, save the money.
It takes the top slot on our weighted overall score:
Bottom line
The Total Gym EVOLVE is our top Total Gym model for three reasons:
-
It carries 500 lb. No other incline trainer on our list is rated that high, so it opens the Total Gym up to bigger users.
-
It keeps you moving forward. Sixteen steps, a board that levels out and a weight-bar option give you years of room to progress.
-
It’s still a home machine. It arrives assembled and folds flat enough to slide under a bed, which the GTS can’t match.
The EVOLVE might be for you if… you’re a heavier user, or you want Pilates-style work at home on a machine that still folds flat.
It’s not for you if… you want the classic Total Gym for a tier less (the FIT Anniversary Edition) or clinic-grade range (the GTS).
Total Gym FIT Anniversary Edition
Best ValueQuick specs
- 14 resistance levels, fixed ergonomic glideboard
- 400 lb user weight (450 lb in the page headline)
- 93 x 18.5 x 44.5 in in use, folds to 50.5 x 18.5 x 8.5 in
- Lifetime frame, parts 6 months to 2 years (page conflicts)
- Arrives fully assembled, sold only at totalgym.com
The classic Total Gym with the fullest box in the range and finer steps than the old FIT. Skip the EVOLVE’s extras and you lose little.
Our take
What I like
- The horns are why I’ve rated the FIT for years. They’re thick and tilt forward, so inverted rows and pull-ups feel solid instead of nervous, and every cable move rattles less.
- A long-time FIT owner who moved up to the Anniversary Edition calls it the same machine with more steps and a fresh board. That matches my years on the standard FIT: same horns, same glide, more notches on the column.
- The fully coated frame matters more in a garage than people think. The rust complaints we see come from chrome-railed machines like the XLS and GR8FLEX, not the FIT.
What I don’t
- Without a level board, side-lying leg work at a steep setting has you gripping the frame to stay put. It’s fine low down and fiddly higher up.
- Some FIT and XLS owners report the plastic base covers, which double as transport wheels, snapping off. It isn’t universal, but I’d tip and roll it gently rather than drag it over a door sill.
Pros & cons
Pros
- The fullest standard box in the range: AbCrunch, leg pulley, upgraded squat stand, 2-piece wing, press-up and dip bars, and a training deck, so there’s nothing extra to order.
- 14 levels, two more than the old FIT’s 12, so each jump is smaller.
- Folds to 8.5 in high, low enough to slide under most beds.
Cons
- Fixed glideboard and sold only at totalgym.com, so there’s no level board and no Amazon returns route.
- Its own spec page contradicts itself on user weight (400 or 450 lb) and parts warranty, so get the terms in writing before you order.
Read more about the Total Gym FIT Anniversary Edition
Next to the EVOLVE, the cheaper machine gives up two levels, a level board and up to 100 lb of user rating. If you’re under 400 lb and won’t miss the level board, that’s a fair trade for a tier less.
| FIT Anniversary Edition | EVOLVE | |
|---|---|---|
| Levels | 14 | 16 |
| User weight | 400 lb (450 lb headline) | 500 lb |
| Glideboard | Fixed | 4-position, levels out |
| Folded height | 8.5 in | 8.5 to 10.5 in |
| Where sold | totalgym.com | totalgym.com and Amazon |
| Price tier | A tier less | A tier more |
It earns the best Value score on our list, 92. You get the FIT frame and its coated finish for a tier less, and the box adds dip bars that the EVOLVE leaves out.
Buy it from totalgym.com, the only US store we found selling it new. A FIT on Amazon is a different product, the FIT Ultimate bundle, and Total Gym’s own pages don’t spec it. With no Amazon safety net, read the returns terms at checkout.
Total Gym’s page mentions a yellow or blue board, but only yellow was listed when we checked. That yellow trim and the “Celebrating 25 years on TV” badge are how you tell an Anniversary Edition from an older FIT in a listing photo.
The brand’s storage walkthrough below is filmed on the standard FIT, which shares this frame.
On build, only the EVOLVE scores higher:
Bottom line
You get most of the EVOLVE experience for a smaller outlay, with more in the box. If you’re under 400 lb and can live without the level board, it’s the one to save money on.
The FIT Anniversary Edition might be for you if… you’re under 400 lb, you want the classic Total Gym with plenty of attachments, and you don’t need a level board.
It’s not for you if… you want an Amazon purchase and returns route, or the adjustable glideboard. Look at the EVOLVE.
GR8FLEX Performance Gym
Best AlternativeQuick specs
- 15 levels, 10% to 47.7% of bodyweight, plus bands (10 to 50 lb extra)
- 450 lb user weight, 6’5” height limit
- 96 x 16 x 50 in in use, folds to 51 x 18 x 8.5 in, 90 lb
- Limited lifetime warranty (registered owner, authorised seller)
- No assembly needed
The one lookalike that matches a Total Gym where it counts and beats it on what’s in the box. Buy it from the right seller or lose the warranty.
Our take
What I like
- Clip the bands on and the load jumps past what the angle alone gives you. It’s the quickest way I know to make a Total Gym-style machine hard again without buying a weight bar.
- The rubber stops at the ends of the rails earn their keep on jump squats. The board can’t run off the end, which makes plyometric work feel a lot less risky.
- Because GR8FLEX prints the percentage for every level, I can tell a client exactly what they’re moving. On a Total Gym, I’m reading a chart in pounds.
What I don’t
- We’ve had the cables sag and go slack, and the height selector has stuck on us more than once. Neither stopped a session, but both get old.
- The glideboard cover feels a touch cheaper than the FIT’s. An owner who has used both says the Total Gym feels denser and glides a little smoother, and I’d agree.
Pros & cons
Pros
- The biggest box on our list: wing bar, dip bars, leg harness, EZ curl bar, ab crunch, XL squat stand, bands, floor mats and a phone holder.
- 450 lb user rating and 15 levels, level with or above the FIT Anniversary Edition on both.
- Limited lifetime warranty on the whole machine, parts and accessories included, when you buy right and register.
Cons
- Warranty void if you buy from an unauthorised seller (GR8FLEX policy since June 2023), and plenty of marketplace listings are exactly that.
- Chrome glide rails that can rust in a humid garage, and it won’t take the Total Gym weight bar.
Read more about the GR8FLEX Performance Gym
Plenty of Total Gym copies never say who stands behind them. GR8FLEX, a California company, puts its name on everything.
My test for a lookalike is simple. Would a company that cut corners on steel rate its machine for 450 lb and back it for life? GR8FLEX does both, and the manual confirms the 450 lb figure. You’ll see 300 lb quoted in places, but the maker’s own paperwork doesn’t support it.
| GR8FLEX | FIT Anniversary Edition | |
|---|---|---|
| Levels | 15 + bands | 14 |
| User weight | 450 lb | 400 lb (450 lb headline) |
| % of bodyweight published | Yes | No |
| Extra load | Bands included | Weight bar, sold separately |
| Frame finish | Chrome rails | Coated |
| Folded height | 8.5 in | 8.5 in |
| Warranty | Lifetime, authorised seller and registered | Lifetime frame, 6 mo to 2 yr parts |
The warranty is the catch. Since June 2023, GR8FLEX refuses claims on machines bought from unauthorised sellers or third-party resellers. To keep your cover:
- Buy from GR8FLEX direct or a listed authorised seller. When we checked in October, the Amazon listing we link to was sold by United Outlets, the US seller GR8FLEX names, but check the seller name before you pay.
- Register the machine the day it arrives.
- Skip second-hand if the warranty matters. Cover is for the original owner only.
Rust is the other thing to plan for. One owner had rusted parts replaced under warranty, which is good service but proof it happens, so wipe the rails down after sessions in a damp garage.
The finishes (Military, Patriotic, Golden, Pearl White and Carbon Fibre Black) share one spec as far as we can find. Only the Carbon Fibre Black special edition adds anything: a storage box. That’s the edition our Amazon link goes to. The photo shows the camo Military finish.
On value it lands fourth, because the seller-restricted warranty, chrome rails and pricier special editions eat into what the bundle saves you. On accessories, though, nothing here beats it.
Bottom line
Pick the GR8FLEX if you want the most attachments and built-in bands, and you’ll buy from an authorised seller. Pick a Total Gym if you’d rather have the FIT’s coated frame, a weight bar and a lifetime frame warranty bought straight from the maker.
The GR8FLEX might be for you if… you want a full kit on day one and published resistance figures you can plan around.
It’s not for you if… you train in a damp garage or want to load plates. The FIT Anniversary Edition covers both.
Total Gym GTS
Best PremiumQuick specs
- 22 calibrated incline levels, 1% to 62% of bodyweight
- 350 lb user weight, 500 lb max load, 6’5” height limit
- 180 lb, 106 x 38 x 57 in in use, folds upright to 20 x 38 x 57 in
- 7-position adjustable glideboard, pulley tower with LAT bars
- 5-year frame, 1-year parts, 6-month upholstery
The clinic and studio machine, sold to homes. The widest range here and a true reformer-style board, but it needs a corner and a pallet delivery.
Our take
What I like
- The 1% bottom setting is the start I want for a client fresh out of physio. It’s close to weightless, and from there you climb in tiny steps.
- On a 180 lb machine, the hydraulic rail lift is what makes folding realistic. And I’d want those automatic rail locks under any client doing jump work.
- One owner who has trained on both says the GTS makes the home FIT feel shrunken, and the telescoping squat stand, with three heights, surprised him most.
What I don’t
- It folds upright and rolls like a hand truck, which is clever. You still need a 38 in wide corner and a clear path from the front door to get it there.
- One owner’s used GTS arrived with a snapped hydraulic lift. Check the lift and rails before you sign for the pallet.
Pros & cons
Pros
- 22 levels from 1% to 62% of bodyweight, the widest range on our list, so rehab starts gentle and strong users still have room.
- A 7-position, 16 x 48 in adjustable glideboard plus a pulley tower, the most reformer-like setup here.
- A commercial frame on 1.7 x 3.2 in aluminium rails, built for clinic hours rather than home hours.
- Every add-on Total Gym sells fits it, including the weight bar (up to 650 lb total with you on it), toe bar and dip bars. None of them are listed for the home models.
Cons
- Top price tier by a distance, and it ships by pallet freight at 265 lb.
- 350 lb user rating and a 5-year frame warranty, both short of the EVOLVE’s 500 lb and lifetime frame.
Read more about the Total Gym GTS
This is the machine you’ll find in physical therapy clinics, and that tells you who it’s built for.
Total Gym has been in physical therapy since 1988, and it launched the GTS in 2011. Clinics and studios buy it for one reason: range. It starts low enough for a post-surgery knee and climbs high enough for a fit athlete. Add the board and tower, and it gets close to a Pilates reformer.
For most home users, it’s overkill, since the EVOLVE gives you a level board and 16 steps in a machine that slides under a bed. The GTS earns its place for a narrower group of buyers.
- You do Pilates or reformer-style work and want the real thing.
- You’re rehabbing under a clinician’s guidance and need that 1% start.
- You train clients at home.
- You’re tall, up to the 6’5” limit.
One set of numbers trips people up. Total Gym’s page rates the GTS for a 350 lb user and 500 lb of total load on the board. The owner’s guide adds a separate 650 lb cap for the weight bar, counting you and the plates together. Plan around the 350 lb user limit for yourself. The page doesn’t say how much assembly it needs either, so ask when you order.
Nothing else comes close on range:
Bottom line
The GTS is the most capable Total Gym on our list, and the hardest to justify at home. Buy it if you’ll use the 1% start and the reformer-style board.
The GTS might be for you if… you do Pilates or reformer-style work, you’re rehabbing, or you train others at home and have the room.
It’s not for you if… you want a machine that slides under the bed, or you weigh more than 350 lb. The EVOLVE handles both.
Total Gym APEX G3
Best BudgetQuick specs
- 8 resistance levels, fixed glideboard
- 300 lb max user weight
- 92.5 x 16.5 x 43 in in use, light APEX frame (53 lb)
- 70+ exercises; squat stand, dip bars, leg pull and wing included
- 12-month warranty, original owner only
The cheapest genuine Total Gym still sold new. Fine for lighter users and small rooms, as long as you know where the money was saved.
Our take
What I like
- You can fold it and carry it on your own. An owner we follow even takes his APEX on trips, which you’d never try with an EVOLVE.
- The wing and leg pull work the same way as on the bigger models, so anyone who has used a FIT feels at home straight away.
- The height adjusts and locks itself at each setting, so changing level between sets takes seconds.
What I don’t
- The stock rollers give a harsher, bumpier ride. The owner we follow swapped in aftermarket rollers, and I’d budget for it.
- On the APEX G5, our old budget pick, the light frame showed once you pushed hard. The G3 shares its size and weight, so don’t expect it to feel as planted as the FIT on heavy cable work.
Pros & cons
Pros
- The lowest price tier on our list, the cheapest way into a real Total Gym.
- The lightest frame here at 53 lb, so one person can move it, and at 16.5 in wide it still suits a small room.
- Has a weight-bar hole (bar sold separately), so bodyweight isn’t your ceiling.
Cons
- 8 levels and a 300 lb cap, the fewest steps and the lowest limit here.
- A short warranty. Twelve months, and only for the original owner.
Read more about the Total Gym APEX G3
The APEX G5 now shows as unavailable, which leaves the G3 holding the budget slot on its own.
The APEX range saves its money on the number of levels, the heft of the frame and the rollers. The attachments and the basic glide stay the same, so it’s still a real Total Gym. Those rollers matter most once you add a weight bar. The owner we follow says to upgrade the wheels first on any small-frame model you load with plates.
- You weigh well under 300 lb.
- You're short on space and want something you can carry.
- You train light to moderate and want your first Total Gym.
- You're near or over 300 lb.
- You want small jumps between levels.
- You plan to load a weight bar heavily.
- You want a longer warranty for a damp garage.
The G3’s manual gives a folded size of 50.5 x 16.5 x 8 in, the lowest here, so it slides under most beds. You’ll find the G3 on Amazon and Walmart rather than totalgym.com, so check the seller’s returns window before you order.
On value it finishes second, behind only the FIT:
Bottom line
If you weigh under 300 lb and want the cheapest genuine Total Gym, start here. If you can stretch, the FIT Anniversary Edition is the better long-term buy.
The APEX G3 might be for you if… you want a light, low-folding Total Gym for a small room and you train at a moderate level.
It’s not for you if… you want fine steps, a higher weight limit or a longer warranty. Spend up to the FIT Anniversary Edition.
Total Gym model decoder: every model name explained
Total Gym has used a lot of names. Models were retired fast and some were made for one retailer. The infomercial also ran for decades, so old names live on in garages and resale listings. Today, totalgym.com lists just three home incline trainers, and old Total Gym Direct links now redirect to a UK store.
Here’s what each name you’re likely to meet means, and whether you can still buy it new.
| Model | What it is | Sold new in the US? | Notes |
|---|---|---|---|
| FIT Anniversary Edition | The current FIT | Yes, totalgym.com | 14 levels. Our best value pick |
| EVOLVE | The current flagship home model | Yes, totalgym.com and Amazon | 16 levels, 500 lb. Our top pick |
| GTS (Heritage Collection) | Clinic and studio model sold to homes | Yes, totalgym.com | Launched in 2011, per Total Gym. Our premium pick |
| FIT / FIT Ultimate | The long-running FIT. Ultimate is an Amazon bundle with a Pilates kit, weight bar and DVDs | Standard FIT no longer listed by Total Gym. Ultimate still on Amazon | Standard FIT: 12 levels |
| XLS | Older mid-range model | Amazon (Total Gym store) and Walmart, not totalgym.com | 6 levels, 400 lb. Some guides wrongly say 12 levels |
| APEX G1 / G3 / G5 | Amazon-era budget line | G3 yes. G5 shows unavailable. G1 listing retitled and unavailable | 6 / 8 / 10 levels. Manuals: G3 300 lb, G5 375 lb, both 12-month warranty. G3 is our budget pick |
| Supreme | Mid-range retailer model | Walmart lists one, stock unconfirmed | Third-party listings disagree on specs |
| XL7 | Retailer model | Amazon listing shows unavailable | 350 lb (Amazon listing), 12 levels (third-party) |
| Xtreme | Retailer model | Amazon listing shows unavailable | 12 levels, 350 lb, 1-year warranty (listing title) |
| Pinnacle | Lower-end Amazon model | Amazon listing shows unavailable | 300 lb (Amazon listing) |
| Platinum / Platinum Plus | Retailer and TV-era bundle | Amazon listing shows unavailable | Sources conflict, so we give no specs |
| Elite / Elite Plus | TV-era model, first sold through TV shopping channels | No longer sold new | Buy used only after checking parts supply |
| XL | Older model sold direct | No longer sold new | Not the same machine as the XLS |
| Summit | Small-frame budget model | No current listing found | No reliable specs found |
| Supra Pro | Older model, no maker page found | No longer sold new | No reliable specs found |
| 1000 to 1900 series, 1700 Club, 1800 Club, 2000, 3000 | Older numbered models. Owner's manuals list the 1400 to 1900 separately and group the 2000 and 3000 with the XLS | No longer sold new | Parts sellers say rollers fit much of the 1000 to 1900 range, so confirm before ordering |
| GRAVITY | Health-club system launched in 2003 | Commercial only | Not a home model. The GTS followed in 2011 |
An older Total Gym is a fair used buy if the glide is smooth, and plenty of these old names turn up cheap. I’d go through five checks before handing over cash.
- The model sticker tells you the real user limit. Old names run from 275 lb to 450 lb, and a seller’s guess isn’t good enough.
- Rollers are the part that wears, so roll the glideboard the full length of the rails and feel for knocks or flat spots. Parts sellers say rollers fit much of the 1000 to 1900 range, so a worn set on those is fixable.
- Chrome rails can rust, especially on a machine that lived in a garage, so look along them in good light.
- The plastic base covers double as transport wheels, and owners report them snapping off on some FIT and XLS units.
- Folding it yourself shows up a sticky pin or a bent bracket. On a used GTS, check the hydraulic lift too, because one owner’s arrived snapped.
Warranties don’t follow the machine. The APEX and GR8FLEX terms cover the original owner only, so budget for any repair yourself.
If you want the short history, Total Gym’s own timeline covers it. Tom Campanaro and Doug Marino designed the first machine in 1974, and it moved into physical therapy in 1988. The famous infomercial with Chuck Norris and Christie Brinkley started in 1996. The GRAVITY system followed in 2003, and after trading as efi Sports Medicine, the company went back to the Total Gym name in 2011.
Other Total Gym models we considered
Total Gym XLS. It’s still on Amazon through the Total Gym store, and we’ve always rated it as a simple, solid machine. But it’s an older 6-level design with wide jumps between settings and a 400 lb cap, and one owner found rust on the chrome rails of the XLS he kept in his garage. The FIT Anniversary Edition does the job better.
Total Gym FIT Ultimate. This is an Amazon bundle of the FIT with a Pilates kit, a weight bar and DVDs. It’s tempting if you’d buy the weight bar anyway. Total Gym’s own pages don’t confirm its specs, though, so we left it out.
Total Gym APEX G5. Our old budget pick now shows as unavailable on Amazon, so the APEX G3 takes its place. It has the same light frame with two fewer levels, and you can still buy it.
Two more groups didn’t make the cut.
- Other lookalikes. If a copy doesn’t publish a user weight, a warranty and who stands behind it, skip it. GR8FLEX is the exception because it does all three.
- Total Gym’s commercial lines. The ELEVATE, RS Encompass and PowerTower are built for clinics and gyms, so they’re out of scope for a home buyer.
Some people shouldn’t buy any machine on this list. If you’re chasing a big squat or bench, you’ll hit the ceiling fast. Even the GTS tops out at 62% of your bodyweight, and the GR8FLEX bands add only up to 50 lb. A rack and barbell, or an all-in-one gym with a cable stack, will serve you better.
The same goes if you weigh over 500 lb. Nothing here is rated for you, and I wouldn’t gamble on it.
The bottom line
For most people, the best Total Gym model is the Total Gym EVOLVE. It carries 500 lb, gives you 16 levels and a glideboard that levels out, and it still arrives assembled and folds away.
If you want the classic Total Gym with more in the box for less, get the FIT Anniversary Edition. For Pilates, rehab or training clients at home, with room to spare, the GTS is the one. Under 300 lb on a tight budget, the APEX G3 still gets you a real Total Gym. For the most attachments plus built-in bands, buy the GR8FLEX from an authorised seller and register it on day one.
Before you order, measure for about 8 ft of length in use and a spot for the folded machine. If the EVOLVE is going under a bed, use the manual’s 10.5 in height. Then check your weight against each limit in the comparison chart.
There are two things to do now:
- If you want to compare them again, click here to skip back to the table.
- If you want to put a pin in it, bookmark this page and come back. We keep it updated.
Stay strong and smart.
Total Gym FAQs
What is the best Total Gym model?
The best Total Gym model for most people is the Total Gym EVOLVE. It carries users up to 500 lb, has 16 resistance levels, and its glideboard levels out for Pilates-style work. The FIT Anniversary Edition is the best value, the GTS suits Pilates and rehab, and the APEX G3 is the cheapest real Total Gym still sold new. Check the comparison chart to match one to your weight and your space.
What is the difference between Total Gym models?
Total Gym models differ in six ways: resistance levels (8 to 22 on our list), user weight limit (300 to 500 lb), a fixed or adjustable glideboard, what comes in the box, folded size, and warranty. The glide idea is the same on all of them. For old names like the XLS, Supreme or 1700 Club, see the model decoder in this guide.
Is Total Gym or GR8FLEX better?
Total Gym is better if you want the FIT’s fully coated frame, weight-bar compatibility and a lifetime frame warranty bought straight from the maker. GR8FLEX is better if you want the most attachments and resistance bands in the box. Both carry heavy users (GR8FLEX 450 lb, the FIT Anniversary Edition 400 to 450 lb) and offer 14 to 15 levels. Only buy a GR8FLEX from GR8FLEX or an authorised seller, because it won’t honour the warranty otherwise.
Is a Total Gym worth it, or should I buy a Bowflex instead?
A Total Gym is worth it if you want low-impact, full-body training on a machine that folds away, and it suits people coming back to exercise. It won’t build maximal strength the way heavy free weights or a cable stack will. A Bowflex swaps bodyweight for rod resistance, so it loads the upper body harder. Skip both if you’re over the weight limit or chasing powerlifting numbers.
Is the Total Gym XLS discontinued?
The Total Gym XLS isn’t formally discontinued, but Total Gym no longer sells it on its own store. Amazon (through the Total Gym brand store) and Walmart still list it. It’s an older design with only 6 resistance levels, so I’d buy the FIT Anniversary Edition instead.
What does a resistance level mean on a Total Gym?
A resistance level on a Total Gym is an incline setting. The higher the level, the steeper the rails, and the bigger the share of your bodyweight you lift. The GR8FLEX runs from 10% to 47.7% and the GTS from 1% to 62%. More levels give you smaller jumps, not a higher ceiling, and cable moves use about half the charted load.
What is the weight limit on a Total Gym?
The weight limit on a Total Gym depends on the model. The EVOLVE takes 500 lb, the FIT Anniversary Edition 400 lb (its page headline says 450), the GTS 350 lb for the user, and the APEX G3 300 lb. The GR8FLEX alternative takes 450 lb. Where a height limit is listed (GTS and GR8FLEX), it’s 6’5”.
Do I need a Total Gym TV subscription?
No. The EVOLVE and FIT Anniversary Edition both include free select workouts on Total Gym TV Basic, plus an exercise wall chart to train from. Premium is a paid subscription that renews automatically, and the machine works exactly the same without it.
Can you add weight to a Total Gym?
Yes, on most models. The FIT, EVOLVE and APEX G3 manuals all show a hole for an optional weight bar that holds plates. The weight bar on totalgym.com is listed for the GTS and commercial machines only, so ask Total Gym which bar fits your model before you buy. Load both sides evenly and fit clips. On the GTS, the owner’s guide caps the total at 650 lb including you, using 1-inch-bore plates. The GR8FLEX uses bands instead.
Do Total Gym accessories fit every model?
No. Every add-on on totalgym.com right now, including the weight bar, toe bar, dip bars and pull-up bar, lists only the GTS and Total Gym’s commercial machines as compatible. The FIT and EVOLVE come with their attachments in the box. Want an extra for a home model? Call Total Gym and check it fits before you pay.
Is a Total Gym easy to get on and off?
Easier than most gym machines, since you sit down onto a padded board instead of lying under a bar. Total Gym’s FIT manual says to keep your feet on the floor as you get on and off. Neither maker publishes the board height, so if balance is a worry, set the lowest level and sit on from the side.
Can I return a Total Gym if it doesn’t suit me?
It depends where you buy it. Amazon orders follow Amazon’s returns rules for that seller. Total Gym’s own shipping, returns and FAQ pages were password-locked when we checked in October 2026. Before you order direct, call them on 1-800-541-4900 and ask about the return window, any restocking fee and who pays return freight.
Total Gym EVOLVE
Total Gym FIT AE
GR8FLEX
Total Gym GTS
Total Gym APEX G3